Reviews



very nice and clean - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much for a pleasant stay. Everything was good - the room, the breakfast, the service. The staff was very nice, too.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Stefanie Goetz | Mon 7th Aug 2017


ALL THE HOME COMFORTS - Rating 5/5

Home from home bed &breakfast,perfect host,very clean,very homely,great breakfast ,nothings to much trouble,very friendly and very welcoming,can highly recommend,perfect through and through

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:tracy WALSH | Fri 4th Aug 2017


Séjour à Edimbourg!- Rating 4/5

Très bon accueil, chambre confortable et hôte convivial et à l'écoute de vos besoins. Centre ville à 10 Minutes en voiture, si à pied compter 50 Minutes pour aller jusqu'au château d'Edimbourg. Cependant la balade est agréable et permet de voir pas mal de choses, on ne voit pas le temps passer!

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:julie rameau | Wed 2nd Aug 2017


Excellent séjour à Drumorne Guest House - Rating 4/5

Accueil chaleureux, quartier légèrement excentré, résidentiel mais charmant, proximité du volcan, accès au centre ville à pied, très bon petit-déjeuner, petite chambre tout confort !

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Laura Le Mailloux | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Kind and good - Rating 5/5

The owner, Abe, received us very kindly. I had made a mistake (booked 1 person in a twin room, but we were 2 persons). So of course I had to pay some extra. He was very kind in showing us around and giving us information on Edinburgh. Breakfast was good, room was very good. Clean, good atmosphere, good price.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Willemijn Luyendijk | Sat 22nd Jul 2017


Recommended - Rating 4/5

Rooms are small and basically equipped.The owner is really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good and abundant.Buses to the centre from a nearby bus stop are £ 1.60.On a sunny day, take a walk uphill from the house to Arthur's Seat. From there, you have splendid vieles.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Werner Reindorf | Fri 21st Jul 2017


Recommended - Rating 4/5

Rooms are small and basically equipped.The owner is really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good and abundant.Buses to the centre from a nearby bus stop are £ 1.60.On a sunny day, take a walk uphill from the house to Arthur's Seat. From there, you have splendid vieles.

Reviewer:Werner Reindorf | Fri 21st Jul 2017


Very hind - Rating 5/5

A little room, but clean and well laid out.Very kind welcoming.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:Dominique Lemahieu | Sat 15th Jul 2017


Good spot - Rating 4/5

Perfectly situated b&b:30min. walk to the city centre, or direct busline (busstop nearby). Clean rooms, good breakfast and a very friendly and helpfull host!

Response

thank you

Reviewer:Frederiek De Weerd | Thu 13th Jul 2017


Genial - Rating 5/5

Estuvimos una semana con los niños y el trato fue estupendo. La habitación amplia para todos y limpia. Desayuno abundante. Hemos estado muy a gusto y ha sido un placer.

Response

Thank you

Reviewer:M ANTONIA NICOLAS CORRAL | Thu 6th Jul 2017


Drumorne house- Rating 4/5

Was a pleasant stay with , made to feel very welcome and man who runs house was very polite could not of asked for more

Reviewer:Kev Warburton | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent location.Extremely pleasant and helpful host.Excellent breakfast and very nice room.

Reviewer:Patricia Sparling | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Excellent short Easter break away - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at this property. The facilities were what we were expecting. It's good value for money in a great location.The owner was very friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again.!

Reviewer:Julia Osborne | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Todo bueno, aunque un poco lejos - Rating 4/5

Todo fue bueno, trato agradable, habitacion limpia (te hacian la habitacion cada dia) desayuno bueno también. Lo unico que no era tan bueno era la ubicación, un poco lejos del centro pero había parada de autobuses cercanas

Reviewer:Angela Vianquetti | Fri 14th Apr 2017


Drumorne Guest House Review - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and value for money. I would highly recommend the Drumorne Guest House.

Reviewer:Nathaniel Holman | Fri 7th Apr 2017


Nice place - Rating 4/5

Nice host. Good place.

Reviewer:Alexandre Sousa | Thu 6th Apr 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent place and Abe is a really great host.

Reviewer:Noelia Luque Cobos | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Amazing Stay!- Rating 5/5

Drumorne Guest House was amazing!! The host is very friendly and helpful. It's 15 mins away from the city centre with many bus stations nearby! Would recommend it! Totally coming back!

Reviewer:Nour El Halal | Mon 27th Mar 2017


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Friendly host cooks a nice breakfast. Pleasant place to stay with everything you need. Parking on the street is the only gamble!

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Sharratt | Sun 26th Mar 2017


What we needed - Rating 4/5

Perfect little B&B near town center, bus station a few meters away. Just what we needed. We spent all day out! Beds are comfortable and breakfast freshly cooked...

Reviewer:Andrea Stokes | Mon 18th Jul 2016


lways a pleasure! - Rating 4/5

I stay here when visiting family nearby, I get a real welcome and feel valued as a returning guest - lovely hosts! An excellent budget hotel, so glad I found it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pat McGoverne | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Vacaciones en pareja - Rating 4/5

Nos sentimos muy comodos en este alojamiento, fueron muy amables con nosotros.La habitacion era acogedora y dormimos estupendamente.Cerca del centro de la ciudad, se puede ir dando un paseo.Si volviesemosedimburgo volveria a Drumorne Guest.Gracias!!!!

Reviewer:Sonia Garcia | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Nice basic stay for exploring Edingburgh - Rating 4/5

Nice and very clean basic room for exploring beautiful Edindurgh. Friendly staff.

Reviewer:Cees Van Laren | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

People really nice, good breakfast, everything extremely cleaned, and well connected house to the center city by bus or walking 30 min.

Reviewer:MARIA CHACON CAJA | Tue 5th Jul 2016


Ideal - Rating 4/5

We needed to be in Edinburgh early morning.It was ideal to book the night before and stay over again the following night.The place was clean and functional to our needs.Its not posh but it wasn't a holiday, just for practical reasons. This guest house met our needs ideally.The breakfast was just ideal, continental the first day as we needed to be away sharp and the following morning as we had a bit more time we had cooked.As we were in a car most of the day, the small portion was perfect for us all. We also had the cereals etc that were available.I would use this guest house again if we had the need to spend a weekend in Edinburgh.The landlord was very pleasant and welcoming.

Reviewer:Jacqueline Waugh | Mon 4th Jul 2016


pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We stay for 3 nights in the Drumorne Guest House. The staff is very kind and the rooms are fine and clean. The breakfast is very good.

Reviewer:Arjan Van Der Spek | Wed 29th Jun 2016


Clean and adequate - Rating 3/5

We stayed at this bed and breakfast as we were seeing elton John at the meadow bank sports stadium the location was excellent the bed and breakfast was clean adequate and the owner was very friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Mrs. audrey kane | Tue 28th Jun 2016


Our stay at drumorne - Rating 3/5

Rooms reqiure.a bit of attention breakfastlovely staff and owner couldnt be more helpfull would return thanks mr crocker

Reviewer:Kevin Ccrocker | Mon 6th Jun 2016


thanks - Rating 4/5

many thanks for all especially your help about the taxi !!!I enjoyed to stay at Drumorne and I suggest it to my friends.many thanks again, best regards

Reviewer:CLAUDIO BERNARDI | Sat 28th May 2016


Regular visitor - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Drumorne 4 times now, visiting family who live nearby.I always receive a warm welcome and I am well looked after. It is so nice to be appreciated as a regular guest and I look forward to my next visit.

Reviewer:Pat McGoverne | Mon 23rd May 2016


3 - Rating 3/5

simple and comfortable

Reviewer:Maria Isabel SANCHEZ PEREZ | Mon 23rd May 2016


Our recent stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Drumore many times over the years and this time was no exception in how we were made so welcome.The landlord is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.I had to change the dates as had put the wrong dates via Booking.com who couldn't change it. But the landlord changed them straight away. The rooms are clean and comfortable.Breakfast is mainly continental but you can have bacon and eggs etc upon request. All in all I would stay here again and recommend it to someone looking for somewhere to stay.

Reviewer:Dawn MacDonald | Sat 21st May 2016


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Nice guesthouse. Friendly people. Thanks.

Reviewer:H Van Der Veen | Tue 17th May 2016


It was OK - Rating 4/5

It's quite hard to make a review, as we didn't get our rooms due to early then expected refurbishment works. We were moved to apartment in a building next to instead, which was nice and clean although there was no enough chairs for all of us (6 people).The boy, that served us, was very kind and helpful (he even made and brought us sandwiches, so we had something to eat when we left very early morning next day).Breakfast was ok (selection of cereals, fresh milk and juices, eggs and bacon on request so we cannot complain).Overall it's a good place to stay for a weekend visit in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Marcin Wlodarkiewicz | Thu 12th May 2016


Goede plek - Rating 4/5

Het guesthouse ligt gunstig t.o.v. de bus naar het centrum en Holyrood Park. Eenvoudig pension, maar hulpvaardige manager. Leuke gesprekken gevoerd met Damian, die prima voor ons zorgde.

Reviewer:Emile Penninx | Thu 5th May 2016


Thank you Drumorne!) - Rating 5/5

We really loved to spend our little holiday in this place! The hotel is perfectly connected to the city center (15 minutes by bus - stop right in front of the building!) and the staff is really nice and kind.I recommend this hotel without doubt!

Reviewer:Natalia Soledad Cichellero | Tue 26th Apr 2016


Empfehlenswert - Rating 5/5

Saubere Zimmer, nette Gastgeber und ein liebevoll angerichtetes Frühstück. Vielen Dank

Reviewer:Julia Schattat | Mon 25th Apr 2016


Charming little Guesthouse and friendly staff - Rating 5/5

Very kind people, nice guesthouse! A very pleasant stay in a quiet area. Not too far from city centre which is close by bus or walk through the beautiul park. All together a wonderful couple of days!

Response

Dear Maren Kerutt.Thanks for the nice review, wishing you and your friend a successful year.Abe

Reviewer:Maren Kerutt | Fri 22nd Apr 2016


A great place to stay.- Rating 4/5

A lovely little BNB that is just a few doors from the nearest bus stop to the city centre. Staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and I did not feel like I was a bother when requesting items. Room was spacious with easy access to electrical points, though the electric shower is a bit underwhelming but I understand the difficulty in having a regular shower for every room. Also, the rooms can become very chilly during the nights.Breakfast consists of a few good staples and the cooked options were well made so no complaints about the food. :)

Response

Dear JamesMany thanksAbe

Reviewer:James Wilson | Tue 5th Apr 2016


Excellent - Rating 4/5

This was the first time, my friends and I stayed in a guest house. Being more used to hotels, we didn't know what to expect. Drumorne guest house would shame some hotels. Our stay was great. It's very clean, the bed were comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff and the landlord were very friendly and helpful. As for the location, it was simply perfect. Half way between Portobello beach and the city centre either by walk or buses.

Reviewer:Warda Jbidane | Mon 22nd Feb 2016


Good- Rating 4/5

Enjoyable stay owner and his staff member very friendly making you feel welcome. Information given regarding travel into city by public transport. I will certainly stay again

Reviewer:Ashley Ellis | Mon 8th Feb 2016


Lovely Guest House - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms and the shower was clean. The breakfast was decent.So the whole experience made us happy customers and we can definitely recommend this guest house.

Reviewer:Matej Christiaens | Mon 4th Jan 2016


Return visit - Rating 4/5

My second stay here, on arrival I was remembered and welcomed.Damien is great, he looked after me well, and is very helpful. I will certainly return again when next visiting family in this area.Drumorne Guest House is excellent budget accommodation, clean, warm and comfortable.

Reviewer:Pat McGoverne | Tue 22nd Dec 2015


a nice,cheap place to stay - Rating 4/5

rather good located. breakfast:cereal, egg and bacon on request. nice staff. The problem was with the wifi.enough to check your emails,not good for loading anything. but all in all,I liked this place:)

Reviewer:Aleksandra Dziubaltowska | Wed 9th Dec 2015


Wunderful Guesthouse, perfect to visit Edinborough! - Rating 5/5

We have been a second time at this guesthouse. We had some problems concerning the flight so we contacted the guesthouse. "No problem"was the answer - and there wasn't any at any time! We finally arrived 10 p.m. but even it was late somebody was waiting for us. I wanted to make a small surprise to my wife, one E-Mail was enough and the people knew what I was talking about. Everything was in the way I expected it, awesome!The room is small but very nice, floor and bathroom are very clean. You find everything you need on the room, breakfast is nice, too. If you plan a trip to visit Edinburgh and just need a place to sleep you HAVE to book this guesthouse. We will for sure come back and are locking forward to it :-) Thank you very much for the nice stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Marcel Tondorf | Fri 27th Nov 2015


Amazing staff - Rating 4/5

We arrived very late with a last minute reservation and staff was very helpful!well located, easy options for public transportation.

Reviewer:Yamil Silva | Tue 3rd Nov 2015


Beautiful, Friendly Stay at Drumorne- Rating 5/5

Drumorne Guest House was a very pleasurable experience! The owner was so friendly and accommodating, familiarizing me with the area, transportation, holding my bags after checkout, and even arranging a way to let me check in after midnight.Drumorne is a little further from the city centre, but it doesn't really matter because there is a bus stop literally outside the front steps (Abercorn;1 pound 50 pence for single ride and 4 pounds for 24 hrs);if you're lucky like me and get mostly nice weather then the walk was very enjoyable for me (just a couple of turns to the city centre (signs posted) and a beautiful walk!)Although I have Celiac Disease (and a couple additional allergies) so wasn't able to enjoy their breakfasts, they smelled amazing and I saw many other guests enjoying them. I enjoyed tea with a water kettle in my room every day which was nice.The bed was very comfortable! It was also very quiet all night even though I kept the window open and it's on a main roadway--I'm a light sleeper and didn't hear anything except an occasional siren. The TV worked well and had a wide assortment of channels.If there is any negative at all, it's the very weak wifi connection. Just used wifi connections at cafés throughout the city.Overall, very much enjoyed my stay here and think it was an excellent value! Would def stay here again if I get the opportunity to come back to Scotland!!

Reviewer:Dawn Stephens | Sun 20th Sep 2015


good stay - Rating 4/5

nice and confortable home and room.near to the bus stop and in a nice neighborhood.excelent and helpfull staf.

Reviewer:Pedro Ferreira | Thu 3rd Sep 2015


A nice stay - Rating 4/5

A very nice bed and breakfast with kind and welcoming staff. I am very satisfied and would recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewer:Agneta Dahlin | Wed 5th Aug 2015


beutiful b&b - Rating 4/5

A fantastic guest house, the owner and the waiter werevery friendly and helpful!I will come again in this place.

Reviewer:Claudio Occhineri | Thu 13th Nov 2014


good value great location - Rating 5/5

excellent B&B with good service and clean and tidy What more could you want

Reviewer:Allan Yeo | Tue 30th Sep 2014


my stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyable stay. Comfy bed.fairly good value. Pity a full breakfast wasn't included. Apart from that, good.

Reviewer:Paul Marley | Thu 18th Sep 2014


Nice place - Rating 4/5

Friendly personelOK roomOK bedGood breakfastGood locationNice city

Reviewer:Steinar Wouters | Mon 15th Sep 2014


Excellent four nights at Drumorne - Rating 5/5

We've just got back from four nights at the(incredibly reasonably priced) Drumorne guest house.Charming people and wonderfully comfortable beds.We would definitely stay again

Response

Dear BernadetteIt was very nice to read your review. God bless and we are looking forward to see you again.RegardsAbeDrumorne

Reviewer:Bernadette Constable | Sun 24th Aug 2014


week end in Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

Very good location, half way to the city half way to the beach.Owner very friendly and fully available.Comfortable beds and very clean.Will definitely stay again!

Response

Dear AriannaThanky for your kind review it was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we wish you all the bestAbeDrumorne

Reviewer:Arianna Galbusera | Wed 16th Jul 2014


Drumorne - Rating 3/5

Drumorne was nice and quiet.Beds were comfortable.Had some trouble getting hot water.Don`t know if problem was with water heater or due to construction of extension.Proprietor was helpful, directing us to a grocery store and calling a taxi when we left.Continental breakfast was alright.Proximity to Holyrood Park and the Palace of Holyroodhouse was good.Being there in summer when it stays light out very late and gets light very early, it would have been nice to have darker curtains.

Response

Dear Miss Shelley JensenThank you for your kind review , We will change the Curtain to darker one as you Suggested.RegardsAbeDrumorne

Reviewer:Miss. Shelley Jensen | Wed 16th Jul 2014


Drumorne Guest House - Rating 5/5

My male friend and I stayed here and loved it. It is conviently located about a mile and a half from Edinburgh city center and about 3/4 of a mile from the shore. The bus picks you up about 7 houses down, however we walked everywhere and the walk was beautiful. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was lovely, considerate, and kind. Plus the online add said no meals, however, they prepared breakfast for us eac morning. I will definitely stay here if I visit again in the future!

Response

Many many thanks for your valuable review and we wish you all the success.AbeDrumorne

Reviewer:Laura Shouldis | Tue 1st Jul 2014


nice to be there - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful.We were allowed to leave our lagguage there untill the late afternoon even we had checked out!clean room,just a small bathroom,but ok.

Reviewer:Elke Wikipil | Thu 12th Jun 2014


lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

lovely place to stay nice and peaceful at night times. short distance from city centre. couldn't have asked for better staff really helpful and friendly

Reviewer:Christine Jarvie | Sun 1st Jun 2014


Very Clean and Excellent Staff support - Rating 5/5

We could not fault anything about this place. The most striking thing is the fact that everything is so clean and tidy. The owners went put of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We stayed here during the Edinburgh marathon weekend and they let us have an early breakfast on the morning of the run. And nothing was too much for them. The bus links to the city is spot on and takes under 20 minutes to get to and from Waverly Train Station.We would recomend this place to anybody and would most definetly return.Thank you Drumorne :-)

Reviewer:Asenaca Delailomaloma | Mon 26th May 2014


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Me and my girlfriend stayed a couple of days with Abe and it was one of the best experiences in my travelling life. It is very rare to meet someone as genuinely service-minded as the people of Drumorne and I would whole-heartedly recommend it to all my friends!

Reviewer:Tobias Sjösten | Thu 22nd May 2014


Welcoming and economical - Rating 4/5

Friendly, comfortable and clean.Very good value breakfast. Quiet area a night. Buses to city on doorstep.Nothing too much trouble. We would go again and recommend it. Beds could be a bit more comfy.

Response

Dear Mr Brian PocockThank you very very much for your valuable review, we will act upon your remark on beds comfortability.Best regardsAbeDrumorne

Reviewer:Brian Pocock | Fri 9th May 2014


convenient - Rating 3/5

Convenient B&B, within a 35min walk to the old town town area.No internet connection in the bed room, and the bathroom was very tight.

Response

Dear Hanspeter SchaubThanks for the comment. the internet should work as we have two separate routers to cover the whole house.

Reviewer:Hanspeter Schaub | Sun 4th May 2014


Damien is wonderful - Rating 4/5

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by Damien. He smiled, welcomed us inside and escorted us to our room. The building was spotlessly clean and we were pleased with our choice. Everything worked with the exception of the WIFI signal which was weak and unusable.The location is good for buses into the city and there are some cool bars within walking distance. Be prepared to walk though.Continental breakfast was included which we sampled although we elected to pay the £2:50 for the cooked option. It was tasty andsufficient with the continental combined.We were cosy in the room and all things considered we would return. The star rating is based upon our personal assessment and as a reflection of Damiens hospitality.

Reviewer:Linda Jennings | Wed 13th Nov 2013


Thank you! - Rating 4/5

Thank you for good friendly service. And especially to Damien for extra trouble in preparing our early breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Emmanuel Oladipo | Wed 6th Nov 2013